Ohio House names majority and minority leadership

Posted Feb. 6, 2019 by

OCSEA activists are watching the Statehouse closely this week as Ohio lawmakers meet for the first time since a contentious Ohio House Speaker race resulted in a win for the union-friendly Republican Larry Householder.

Since then, Householder has said he will increase the number of minority members on committees and allow the minority party to co-chair the Criminal Sentencing Committee, the Energy Generation Subcommittee and the Primary and Secondary Education Subcommittee. Other rule changes have included allowing all amendments to be heard and allowing any member to call for a roll call vote.

Today, the Ohio House of Representatives named its leadership team for the majority and minority, which signals more good news for union supporters and those hoping for a more bipartisan approach to governance. Numerous OCSEA endorsed lawmakers have been named to leadership on both sides of the aisle. The House unanimously approved for the Republicans, Representative Butler as the No. 2 House leader and for the Democrats, Minority Leader Emilia Sykes. Sykes called the new government a “historic coalition.” Additionally, OCSEA is awaiting the announcement of all members to committees.

Republican House leadership is the following:

  • Rep. Larry Householder, Speaker
  • Rep. Jim Butler, pro temp
  • Rep. Bill Seitz, majority leader
  • Rep. Anthony DeVitis, assistant majority leader
  • Rep. Jay Edwards, majority whip
  • Rep. Laura Lanese, assistant majority whip

Democratic House leadership is the following:

  • Rep. Emilia Sykes, minority leader
  • Rep. Kristin Boggs, assistant minority leader
  • Rep. Kent Smith, minority whip
  • Rep. Paula Hicks-Hudson, assistant minority whip

Additionally, the union will be closely watching the introduction of the following budgets:

  • Transportation Budget
  • Workers Comp Budget
  • Industrial Commission Budget
  • Biennial Budget